Pictures from Alaska

Good day to all,

I’m excited to become a part of this tin box. I think it’s a wonderful idea for people everywhere to share their thoughts and culture.

I’m Rachael and I live in Alaska, USA. These are a few pictures of Alaska I would like to share with you. We are very far north here. We have an 8 month long winter, and the temperatures go to —40 degrees Celsius. When it gets that cold, I have to wear a face mask!

Here are a few pictures I took. I hope you enjoy them.

These mountains completely surrounded me in a huge circle. Any direction I turned, I saw more mountains.

This next picture is an amazing ice carving of a pelican. The World Ice Carving championships take place in my city. If you are interested in seeing more ice carvings, I wrote a post on my own blog: click here.

It was great to share a little of Alaskan life with you!
This post is short as I am mostly introducing myself, but if you would like to take a look at my own blog, you can click here.
I would like to thank Josè Pascal for inviting me to share a post on this blog, and I look forward to reading other posts in the tin box.
With love,
Rachael
9 thoughts on “Pictures from Alaska

  1. Ciao Rachael grazie del tuo saluto e per averci dato l’opportunità di conoscerti. Le tue foto sono molto belle per me che amo le montagne anche quando sono innevate. Grazie anche dell’invito ad entrare nel tuo blog. Non parlo la tua lingua ma oggi nel PC i traduttori automatici fammo miracoli.
    Auguri perchè tu possa realizzare tutto ciò che desideri.
    Adesso andrò subito a visita il tuo blog.
    C i a o o o o o o!

  2. I’m so surprise how it is possible realize ice carvings! I think only a real artist can d0 it ! Tanks to show us your peactures, Rachael.
    Nice to met you!
    I shall go to watch your blog!
    Ciao!

  3. Hello from Miami. Alaska pictures so pristine. I understand glaciers are receding re global warming. Do you see effects? I can think of only one negative thing about Alaska and I’ll allow you to speculate who she is.

  4. Hello Rachael! Wonderful photos, nice landscape. I read a book partially set in Alaska, “Solomon Gursky was here”. It was written by Mordecai Richler, a Genius! He was better known thanks to his masterpiece “Barney’s Version”.

    @ carldagostino: very nice joke! I think I know who you were talking about…

    Hope to see you soon on my blog, guys, have a nice day!

    Giacomo
    http://ultimafila22.wordpress.com/

  5. Would love to see more pictures of Alaska.

    Carldagostino, you are a man after my own heart! Do you know enough Italian to read this blog? I’m struggling with the translations. I think Jose’s birthplace and other towns were translated. Still don’t know where he’s from. Help, Jose!!!

    Love this website, even if translations are off.

    nancy

    • I know a little Spanish only. I press the American flag button above and it translates so I can read. There is a problem, however, when people here send items to me and they do not have the translation ability like this blog so I just delete which is very unfortunate. Since I am from Staten Island I am fluent in Brooklynese and New York language too.

Rispondi

